The Deleted Scene; Take One

After months of procrastination I am finally starting my own film blog. It is an amazing time to be starting as the film industry is as exciting and interesting as ever. But before getting down to the serious stuff, a little bit about my history with film and the type of film blog this will be.

I have always been a die-hard film fan. Whether it was watching films like Evil Dead and The Fly with friends in middle school, or spending all my money on Criterion DVDs in high school, my film taste has changed over the years, but my love for film has not.

I hope to bring an interesting opinion to up-to-date news stories, rumours and reviews daily, as well as every week write longer form opinion pieces such as essays about certain film makers and the film industry. I hope to give a slightly different perspective from most blogs.

As I see it, there are two kinds of film fans that read film blogs: film geeks and film snobs. For most people it would be easy to assign one of those labels to themselves, but for me it is not. While I spend a lot of my time geeking over the latest film rumours, I also spend an equal amount of time watching the great films of Truffaut, Malick and Fellini.

My interest in starting this blog stems from a huge enthusiasm for film and the industry; however I also don’t want to fall into the trap of simply being enthusiastic about film and not being able to criticize it. I hope to strike a good balance between the two, while still delivering entertaining and insightful posts.

As I am only starting, I will keep this a simple blog to begin with, one or two posts a day, and a longer essay style post once a week with topics that deserve longer posts. I can’t look into the future and tell you what this blog will be like, however I can confidently say that I will not give up on this and just stop. My love for film is far too strong to stop writing and I will continue for a long time.

I look forward to your comments and conversations.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Deleted Scene; Take One

  1. Werther's Original says:

    Well, this seems to be the perfect thing for you. I guess now you have somewhere to properly publish your integrated opinions on the important matters that revolve around the film industry. I’ll be checking in every so often to see what’s up, and hopefully i will learn a thing or two. Cheers!

  2. Aisha says:

    Saw your review of Inception on imdb, found it very useful, saw the blog link so here I am. Nice start buddy, wish you good luck.

  3. Florian says:

    I also found you via your Inception review. Good luck with your blog, I’m looking forward to reading more from you. Greetings from Germany.

  4. Fraser says:

    hey mate,

    I read your review of Inception on IMDb and followed your link here. Great site! I love it! A like all your articles – I’ve started doing this myself. I’ve been reviewing for years now, so you can check out my reviews on my blog at http://cade14.wordpress.com

    Oh and by the way, I agree with you on Inception – Chris Nolan is undeniably an auteur, a true genius. He became my favourite director after The Prestige, and is kicking Kubrick’s heals after his latest masterpiece.

    I would love to her your comments and talk about films – from my readings, it seems like we have very similar opinions, generally.

    The following link will take you straight to my review of Inception: http://cade14.wordpress.com/2010/07/22/inception/

    If you want to read my analysis of the film, feel free and follow the next link, but beware, it is 6,000 words long! http://cade14.wordpress.com/9-analysis-articles/

    Cheers,

    cade14 (Fraser)

  5. thegreatob says:

    Randomly browsed on your blog, best of luck with it as it becomes highly rewarding and becomes an obcessive compulsion to continue to write. I also have a blog which focueses on cult films http://www.thegreatob.wordpress.com.

    Good luck with your future posts.

  6. cade14 says:

    thanks for commenting – lol, I have subsequently seen the film three times after I wrote my review, and my opinion on the emotional depth had changed, i just forgot to change it in my review! My change in opinion helped me formulate my theory/interpretation of the film.

    Thank you for pointing it out 🙂

Leave a Reply

