Speaking To A Few

Occasionally during the two years I’ve been writing The Deleted Scene, I’ve become discouraged. It is easy, as a blogger of any sort, to become frustrated. Whether it be lack of attention, or simply lack of inspiration, frustration comes easy from a pastime that often shows little reward.

Looking back, I can now see what has kept me going. Early on, I promised myself that I would keep writing. I did not want to give up after just a couple of months. It was, however, not long before I no longer had to rely on that commitment to keep writing.

One of the often overlooked rewards of writing a blog came with the community of like-minded film fans that I was introduced to. It is one of the aspects of writing I enjoy most, as I am able to discuss, and often argue, my point of view long after I have published an article.

Beyond that, moments such as attending press events at the Dolby headquarters have been an unexpected and exciting bonus of writing about movies. And as proud as I am for moments such as those, I realized recently the real reason I continue to write.

Before leaving London, England last month, I watched Andrea Arnold’s new film, Wuthering Heights. It is an astonishingly beautiful, and difficult adaptation of the classic Emily Bronte novel. Like Arnold’s previous film, Fish Tank, this film spoke to me in a way few films do. It inspired me, as an aspiring filmmaker and as a writer. It reminded me why I continue to write, and why I love doing it.

Every aspect of the film worked for me, from the brutal love story to the stunning cinematography. I was instantly gobsmacked, forced to sit quietly as the film washed over me. It reminds me that some voices in cinema do not need to speak to all, but can speak to a few in powerful ways.

That idea inspires me, and makes me want to continue.

This entry was posted in Opinion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Speaking To A Few

  1. Andrew K. says:

    Well, good for Arnold then. I only appreciated Arnold’s WUTHERING HEIGHTS in parts (particularly the first half and Scodelario) but it’s nice when film has that effect on you to keep you going.

  2. Payne-Hahner says:

    Absolutely agree as to Arnold’s extraordinary eye as a filmmaker; how does such disciplined and intelligent work get sorely overlooked?

Leave a Reply

